Tag Archives: Member news

Announcing the 2019 AHCJ-Rhode Island Health Journalism Fellows

Congratulations to our AHCJ-Rhode Island Health Journalism fellows, who will be attending Health Journalism 2019.

We were able to support these fellows this year thanks to funding from the Rhode Island Foundation. Continue reading

AHCJ president joins Medscape as vice president, editorial

Ivan Oransky

Ivan Oransky, M.D., president of the Association of Health Care Journalists’ board of directors, has joined Medscape as vice president, editorial.

Oransky, who is a Distinguished Writer in Residence at New York University’s Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, has held senior editorial positions at MedPage Today and Reuters Health. He also has worked at Scientific American, The Scientist and Praxis Post. Continue reading

Just-announced AHCJ-CDC Health Journalism Fellows to spend a week at agency

The Association of Health Care Journalists has announced the selection of a new class of AHCJ-CDC Health Journalism Fellows. The 10 journalists – supported through a grant from the Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust – will spend a week studying public health issues at two Atlanta campuses of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The AHCJ-directed fellowship program will include presentations, roundtable discussions and lab tours on epidemiology, global disease prevention efforts, obesity and other chronic diseases, vaccine safety, foodborne disease, influenza, antibiotic resistance, climate change and other topics.

The 2018 AHCJ-CDC fellows are 

AHCJ member news: New jobs, fellowships, awards and more for health journalists

This edition of member news includes accomplishments from AHCJ members Ken Alltucker, Jeanette Beebe, Suzanne Bohan, Helene Epstein, Liza Gross, Catherine Guthrie, Phyllis Hanlon, Markian Hawryluk, Christine Herman, Harriet Hodgson, Tayla Holman, Stephanie Innes, Jason Kane, Prerna Mona Khanna, David Levine, Doug Levy, Jane Palmer, Katja Ridderbusch, Lara Salahi, Laura Santhanam, Joanne Silberner, Don Tepper and Lynne Terry. Continue reading

AHCJ names 2018-19 Regional Health Journalism Fellows

The Association of Health Care Journalists has named the 2018-19 class of the Regional Health Journalism Fellowship, an annual program for reporters and editors across the United States.

The program, which focuses on different regions each year, is dedicated this year to journalists from the Mountain States region of Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Wyoming and Utah. Past classes of fellows have come from the northern Midwest and Plains, the Southeast, the West Coast, the South Central United States, the Great Lakes and the mid-Atlantic states.

The new fellowship class will gather for the first time next month. Find out who the fellows are.