November member news: Awards, job changes, new books and more

About Pia Christensen

Pia Christensen (@AHCJ_Pia) is the managing editor/online services for AHCJ. She manages the content and development of, coordinates AHCJ's social media efforts and edits and manages production of association guides, programs and newsletters.

The latest report on AHCJ members’ awards, fellowships, job changes and other news includes Diane Atwood, Elizabeth DeVita-Raeburn, Sharon Dunten, Audrey Dutton, Karl Eisenhower, Peter Eisler, P. Mona Khanna, Nick Mulcahy, Marianne O’Hare, Cheryl Platzman Weinstock, Gary Schwitzer,  Liz Seegert and Jenny Wagner.

Diane Atwood’s blog, Catching Health (@CatchingHealth), carried by the Bangor (Maine) Daily News, won third place in the features category of the Maine Press Association awards.

The Death of Cancer,” written by Vincent T. DeVita Jr., M.D., and Elizabeth DeVita-Raeburn (@devitaraeburn), was published Nov. 3 (Sarah Crichton Books).

Former SPJ Georgia president Sharon Dunten (@sharondunten) has been promoted to assistant regional director, Region 3, for the Society of Professional Journalists. Dunten will serve journalists in Alabama, Florida, Georgia and South Carolina.

Idaho Statesman reporter Audrey Dutton won the first-place prize for enterprise reporting in the C.B. Blethen Memorial Awards among newspapers with circulations of 50,000 or more in Idaho, Washington, Oregon, Utah, Montana, Alaska, Alberta and British Columbia. The award is given annually by the Pacific Northwest Newspaper Association. Dutton (@IDS_Audrey) was recognized for her reporting on an antitrust trial involving a health care system.

Karl Eisenhower has been named the health editor at RealClearPolitics (@RealClearNews). Until recently, he was senior Web editor at Kaiser Health News. RCP’s RealClearHealth website launched on Oct. 15, with a mission of bringing RCP’s tradition of smart aggregation to health policy.

After more than 20 years at the paper as an investigative reporter at USA Today, Peter Eisler (@byPeterEisler) has joined Reuters as an investigative reporter on a new national affairs team in the Washington, D.C., Bureau.

P. Mona Khanna, M.D., (@askdrmona) received the Global Achievement Award from Johns Hopkins Alumni Association for almost 20 years of humanitarian and disaster service across the world. Her most recent disaster deployment was medical standby for the Pope’s visit to America in September and October.

Senior journalist Nick Mulcahy (@MulcahyNick), who covers oncology for Medscape Medical News was promoted to associate editor.

The Conversations on Health Care radio show, produced by Marianne O’Hare (@MAOHare) aired its 300th episode. The show is produced on the campus of Wesleyan University at WESU-FM, and syndicated nationally on the ReachMD Channel on iHeartRadio and TuneIn, Public Radio Exchange (PRX), Pacifica Radio Network and multiple stations around the country.

Cheryl Platzman Weinstock (@CherylWeinstock) has been awarded a Knight Science Journalism Fellowship at MIT to the fall Kavli Workshop on Nanotechnology.

Gary Schwitzer (@garyschwitzer), publisher of, led two health journalism workshops in New Delhi and Mumbai, India, for the National Cancer Institute.

Independent journalist Liz Seegert (@lseegert), who serves as AHCJ’s core topic leader for aging, has been named director of the Media Fellows Program at Hunter College’s Center for Health, Media & Policy. She also was invited to attend the Gerontological Society of America annual conference as a Continuing Fellow, Journalist-in-Aging program in Orlando later this month.

Jenny Wagner (@ATJWagner) formerly of the Beaver County Times in western Pennsylvania, has transferred to become the health enterprise reporter for Calkins Media’s three newspapers in the Philadelphia region: the Bucks County Courier Times, The (Doylestown) Intelligencer and the Burlington County (N.J.) Times.

Leave a Reply