New AHCJ board seated for 2010-11

Andy Miller, longtime health care journalist, joined five incumbents in being seated on the Association of Health Care Journalists’  board of directors.

Andy Miller

Andy Miller

Incumbents starting a new two-year term include Julie Appleby and  Phil Galewitz of Kaiser Health News; Ivan Oransky of Reuters Health; Trudy Lieberman of Columbia Journalism Review; and freelancer Irene Wielawski. The six journalists were the only ones to register in time to run for the six open spots, precluding the need for an election. Board member Mike Stobbe of The Associated Press chose not to run for re-election.

Each year, AHCJ conducts an election to pick people to serve on the association’s board of directors. Six of the 12 positions come up for election each year for two-year terms. Board members take on committee duties and contribute to association activities, including fundraising, advocacy, training events, membership outreach and the newsletter. They may be asked to play a role in association projects, such as writing, editing or fact-checking resource guides or online teaching modules.

Read more about the board …

Leave a Reply