About AHCJ: General News

New AHCJ board seated for 2010-11 Date: 07/02/10

July 2, 2010


Contact: Len Bruzzese, AHCJ executive director, 573-884-5606

Andy Miller, longtime health care journalist, joined five incumbents in being seated on the Association of Health Care Journalists' 2010-11 board of directors.

Incumbents starting a new two-year term include Julie Appleby and  Phil Galewitz of Kaiser Health News; Ivan Oransky of Reuters Health; Trudy Lieberman of Columbia Journalism Review; and freelancer Irene Wielawski. The six journalists were the only ones to register in time to run for the six open spots, precluding the need for an election. Board member Mike Stobbe of The Associated Press chose not to run for re-election.

Andy MillerAndy Miller

Miller, a former health care reporter for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, is now freelancing and developing a nonprofit news service called Georgia Health News.

The newly seated board members join those elected last year for two-year terms: Charles Ornstein of ProPublica, Karl Stark of The Philadelphia Inquirer, Carla K. Johnson of The Associated Press, Andrew Holtz of MDiTV.com, Felice Freyer of The Providence (R.I.) Journal and independent journalist Maryn McKenna.

The board selected officers last year for two-year terms, so leadership remains unchanged for the coming year: Ornstein, president; Stark, vice president; Oransky, treasurer; Appleby, secretary; and Lieberman, immediate past president.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.