Members honored for reporting on mental health

AHCJ members Bryan Thompson of Kansas Public Radio, Sharon Salyer of The (Everett, Wash.) Herald and Elizabeth Bernstein of The Wall Street Journal are among winners of the Mental Health America 2009 Media Awards.

Mental Health America, a nonprofit education and advocacy group, also is presenting a special award to Los Angeles Times columnist Steve Lopez for his writing about Nathaniel Anthony Ayers, which inspired the feature film “The Soloist.” Lopez spoke about Ayers and the columns and book he wrote about the musician at AHCJ’s 2008 Urban Health Journalism Workshop.

Thompson won the “Local Radio” category for “Greensburg’s Long Road to Recovery.” Thompson was a member of the inaugural class of AHCJ’s Midwest Health Journalism Program fellows.

Salyer, with Alejandro Dominguez, won the “Series” category for “Alone Among Us,” which also won an Award for Excellence in Health Care Journalism from AHCJ. Members of AHCJ can read about how they did the project in their contest questionnaire.

Bernstein, with Nathan Koppel, won in the “Newspapers with a Circulation Above 100,000” category for “A Death in the Family.”

1 thought on “Members honored for reporting on mental health

  1. Pingback: Advocacy group releases mental health media guide : Covering Health

Leave a Reply