Membership selects new board members for 2021-22

About Andrew Smiley

Andrew Smiley is the executive director of AHCJ and its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism, and an assistant professor at the Missouri School of Journalism. Smiley comes to AHCJ from a sports broadcasting background, including nearly a decade at the Golf Channel/NBC Sports and a decade at ESPN, where he won an Emmy.

Christine Herman, health reporter at Illinois Public Media, and Sebastián Martínez Valdivia, public health reporter at KBIA and adjunct instructor at the Missouri School of Journalism, join four incumbents on the Association of Health Care Journalists’ 2021-22 board of directors.

Incumbents starting a new term include Marlene Harris-Taylor, managing producer at NPR/PBS affiliate ideastream; Jeanne Erdmann, a Missouri-based freelancer; Felice Freyer, health reporter at The Boston Globe; and Gideon Gil, managing editor at STAT.

Continue reading

Leave a Reply