About AHCJ: General News

Membership selects new board members for 2021-22 Date: 07/06/21

Contact: Andrew Smiley, AHCJ executive director, 573-884-5606

Martínez Valdivia

Christine Herman

Columbia, MO. – Christine Herman, health reporter at Illinois Public Media, and Sebastián Martínez Valdivia, public health reporter at KBIA and adjunct instructor at the Missouri School of Journalism, join four incumbents on the Association of Health Care Journalists’ 2021-22 board of directors

Incumbents starting a new term include Marlene Harris-Taylor, managing producer at NPR/PBS affiliate ideastream; Jeanne Erdmann, a Missouri-based freelancer; Felice Freyer, health reporter at The Boston Globe; and Gideon Gil, managing editor at STAT. 

The board members join those elected last year for two-year terms: Joyce Frieden, Washington editor at MedPage Today; Carrie Feibel, senior editor of the Science Desk at NPR; Tony Leys, health care reporter at the Des Moines Register; Ivan Oransky, M.D., editor-in-chief of Spectrum; and Sabriya Rice, Knight chair in health and medical journalism at the University of Georgia. 

Officers will remain in their current positions until October 1 when a new slate will be elected.  

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. It is a community of about 1,500 people committed to the highest standards of reporting, writing, editing, and broadcasting in health care journalism for the general public and trade publications. The Association hosts a resource-laden website, offers numerous fellowships for journalists, conducts training to help journalists improve and advance their coverage and advocates for the free flow of information to the public. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.

Jeanne Erdmann

Felice Freyer

Gideon Gil

Marlene Harris-Taylor