AHCJ members win recognition for their work

André Picard was among a group of journalists recognized by the Canadian Medical Association for The (Toronto) Globe and Mail‘s series “Dementia: Confronting the Crisis.” The project won a 2011 Media Award for Health Reporting in the “Excellence in Print Reporting/In-depth feature series” category.

Paul Raeburn has received the James T. Grady-James H. Stack Award for Interpreting Chemistry to the Public from the American Chemical Society. The award cites Raeburn’s work as science editor and chief science correspondent at the Associated Press from 1981 to 1996, where thousands of his articles were distributed to more than 1,700 newspapers and 6,000 television and radio stations worldwide. Raeburn writes about science coverage for the Knight Science Journalism Tracker and is an independent journalist and author.

Liz Seegert was named a senior fellow with the Center for Health, Media and Policy at Hunter College, City University of New York. She is working with AHCJ members Barbara Glickstein and Diana Mason, among others, on initiatives to improve public health through media, education and public forums.

Ron Winslow, the deputy bureau chief for health and science and a veteran medical reporter at The Wall Street Journal, was awarded the 2011 Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting from the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing. Winslow was cited for the “exceptional breadth, precision and clarity of his coverage about how technological innovation is transforming the world of medicine.”

Leave a Reply