Announcing the 2019 AHCJ-Rural Health Journalism Fellows

About Len Bruzzese

Len Bruzzese is the executive director of AHCJ and its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism. He also is an associate professor at the Missouri School of Journalism and served for nearly 20 years in daily journalism.

Congratulations to our AHCJ-Rural Health Journalism fellows, who will be attending Health Journalism 2019.

We were able to support these fellows this year thanks to funding from The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust.

  • Kara Ardron, Appalachia health news coordinator, West Virginia Public Broadcasting, Charleston, W.V.
  • Kristen Consillio, reporter, Honolulu Star-Advertiser, Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Melodie Edwards, reporter/anchor, Wyoming Public Radio, Laramie, Wyo.
  • Berenice Garcia, reporter, The Monitor, McAllen, Texas
  • Markian Hawryluk, health reporter, The Bend Bulletin, Bend, Ore.
  • Erica Hensley, health and data reporter, Mississippi Today, Ridgeland, Miss.
  • Mary Hodgin, health and science reporter, WBHM-Birmingham, Ala.
  • Lori Kersey, health reporter, Charleston Gazette-Mail, Charleston, W.V.
  • Andrew Kitchenman, state government and politics reporter, Alaska Public Media and KTOO, Juneau, Alaska
  • Kamila Kudelska, northwest reporter, Wyoming Public Radio, Red Lodge, Mont.
  • Michaela Ramm, health care reporter, The Gazette, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • Bram Sable-Smith, independent journalist, Madison, Wis.
  • Kat Stromquist, reporter, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, Little Rock, Ark.

Leave a Reply