AHCJ members among national contest winners

About Andrew Van Dam

Andrew Van Dam of The Wall Street Journal previously worked at the AHCJ offices while earning his master’s degree at the Missouri School of Journalism.

It’s awards season and we’re happy to report that AHCJ members are winning a number of national awards.  What’s listed below is a list of awards we’ve noticed. If you’ve recently won an award – or received a fellowship, published a book or changed jobs – please be sure to let us know (info@healthjournalism.org)  so we can share the news. And if you haven’t yet checked out the winners of AHCJ’s awards, be sure to do so.

National Headliner Awards

Full list of winners

American Society of Journalists and Authors 2010 Writing Awards

Full list of winners

Scripps Howard Foundation National Journalism Awards

  • Public service reporting
    Finalist: Charles Ornstein and Tracy Weber, ProPublica/Los Angeles Times
  • Environmental Reporting
    Charles Duhigg of The New York Times receives $10,000 and the Edward J. Meeman Award for the series “Toxic Waters,” an investigation of inadequacies in the Clean Water Act and the Safe Drinking Water Act that prompted wide-ranging overhauls in enforcement of the 1970s laws.

Full list of winners

2009 National Awards for Education Reporting

  • Small Media – Feature, News Feature or Issue Package
    Special Citations Beth Slovic, Willamette Week, “Cheerless

Full list of winners

Leave a Reply