AHCJ membership elects new board members

Members of the Association of Health Care Journalists elected two new names to the AHCJ board of directors and returned four incumbents to their posts for the 2009-11 term.

Felice J. Freyer of The Providence Journal and Maryn McKenna, an independent journalist and author, were selected to join the board. Incumbents Charles Ornstein of ProPublica, Karl Stark of The Philadelphia Inquirer, Carla K. Johnson of The Associated Press and Andrew Holtz, a Portland, Ore., independent journalist, were returned to the board.

They join board members elected last year for two-year terms: Trudy Lieberman of City University of New York, Ivan Oransky of Reuters Health, Mike Stobbe of The Associated Press, Julie Appleby of Kaiser Health News, Irene Wielawski an independent journalist from Pound Ridge, N.Y., and Phil Galewitz of Kaiser Health News.

Board members will select officers in the coming weeks. Current officers are Lieberman (president), Ornstein (vice president), Stark (treasurer) and Mary Chris Jaklevic (secretary), who chose not to run again.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.

Leave a Reply