Member portal ...

Join or renew today Membership portal

Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism

Len Bruzzese/AHCJ

AHCJ board president Ivan Oransky presents an award to Cheryl Clark of, who along with Lorie Hearn and Megan Wood, won first place in the Investigative (small) category for "Hustling Hope."

Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism

Since 2004, the Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism have recognized the best health reporting in print, broadcast and online media.

Entries can include a wide range of health coverage including public health, consumer health, medical research, the business of health care and health ethics. The contest was created by journalists for journalists and is not influenced or funded by commercial or special-interest groups.

First-place winners earn $500 and a framed certificate. They also receive complimentary lodging for two nights and registration for the annual conference. If there is more than one entrant on the award, it is up to these winners to divide any prize. Lodging will only be covered for one individual in each category.

Winners are recognized at the annual awards luncheon.

“The AHCJ contest highlights innovative reporting on health care, offering examples for all journalists of how to help the public understand these important and complicated issues,” said Tony Leys, AHCJ contest chair and a health care reporter for the Des Moines Register.

Early-bird entry deadline:
Dec. 15, 2021, 1 p.m. ET

Regular entry deadline:
Jan. 26, 2022, 5 p.m. ET