Health Journalism 2011: Conference fellows

This year, AHCJ is able to provide support to more than 100 journalists – an unprecedented number – to attend Health Journalism 2011.


Congratulations to our AHCJ-California Health Journalism fellows. We were able to support these fellows this year thanks to funding from The California HealthCare Foundation.

  • AHCJ-California Health Journalism Fellowships

    LJ Anderson, independent journalist, Menlo Park, Calif.
  • Joan Aragone, correspondent, San Mateo County Times
  • Victoria Colliver, reporter, San Francisco Chronicle
  • Chet Cooper, editor in chief, ABILITY Magazine
  • Randy Dotinga, independent journalist, San Diego
  • Mari Edlin, independent journalist, Sonoma, Calif.
  • Christina Elston, managing editor, LA Parent, Burbank, Calif.
  • Emma Gallegos, reporter, The Los Angeles Daily Journal
  • Kenny Goldberg, health reporter, KPBS-San Diego
  • Jondi Gumz, reporter, Santa Cruz (Calif.) Sentinel
  • Duke Helfand, reporter, Los Angeles Times
  • Molly Hennessy-Fiske, reporter, Los Angeles Times (unable to attend)
  • Sandy Kleffman, reporter, Contra Costa (Calif.) Times
  • Elaine Korry, independent journalist, Richmond, Calif.
  • Janet Lavelle, reporter, San Diego Union-Tribune
  • Colleen Paretty, executive editor, WebMD, Oakland, Calif.
  • Courtney Perkes, reporter, The Orange County Register, Santa Ana, Calif.
  • Sue Pondrom, independent journalist, San Francisco
  • Sue Rochman, independent journalist, San Francisco
  • Ryan Sabalow, reporter, Redding (Calif.) Record Searchlight
  • Laurie Udesky, independent journalist, San Francisco
  • Sarah Varney, reporter, KQED-San Francisco
  • Lisa Zamosky, independent journalist, Los Angeles


Congratulations to our AHCJ-Oregon Health Journalism fellows. We were able to support these fellows this year thanks to funding from the Northwest Health Foundation.

  • Markian Hawryluk, reporter, Bend Bulletin, Bend, Ore.
  • Delia Hernandez, reporter, KUNP-Portland, Ore.
  • Julie Sullivan, staff writer, The Oregonian
  • Saerom Yoo, reporter, Statesman Journal, Salem, Ore.


Congratulations to our AHCJ-Missouri Health Journalism fellows. We were able to support these fellows this year thanks to funding from the Missouri Foundation for Health.

  • Alan Bavley, reporter, The Kansas City Star
  • Blythe Bernhard, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
  • Hannah Douglas, student, Truman State UniversityAHCJ-Missouri Health Journalism Fellowships
  • Jeanne Erdmann, independent journalist, Wentzville, Mo.
  • Joy Robertson Fountain, anchor-reporter, KOLR-Springfield, Mo.
  • Elana Gordon, reporter, KCUR-Kansas City
  • Jennifer Gordon, reporter, St. Joseph News-Press
  • Tara Grimes, student, University of Missouri
  • Melinda Hemmelgarn, independent journalist, Columbia, Mo.
  • Toni Lapp, editor,, Kansas City
  • Meryl Lin McKean, reporter, WDAF-Kansas City
  • Jennifer Meckles, student, University of Missouri
  • Lainie Mullen, student, University of Missouri
  • Sarah Okeson, reporter, Springfield News-Leader
  • Katherine Reed, health editor, Columbia Missourian
  • Sananda Sahoo, reporter, Booneville Daily News
  • Kelly Von Lunen, editor, VFW Magazine, Kansas City
  • Tammy Worth, independent journalist, Blue Springs, Mo.


Congratulations to our AHCJ-New York Health Journalism fellows. This is a new fellowship program introduced this year thanks to funding from the New York State Health Foundation.

  • Bob Barrett, reporter, WAMC Northeast Public Radio-Albany
  • Cathleen Crowley, health reporter, Albany Times-UnionAHCJ-New York Health Journalism Fellowships
  • Elizabeth Dwoskin, staff writer, The Village Voice, New York
  • Karla Gale, reporter, Reuters Health
  • Katherine Gibas, reporter, YNN-Syracuse
  • Katti Gray, independent journalist, Brooklyn
  • Amy Harmon, reporter, The New York Times
  • Frederik Joelving, medical journalist, Thomson Reuters, New York
  • Jane Lerner, staff writer, The Journal News, West Nyack, N.Y.
  • Serena Marshall, associate producer, ABC News, New York
  • Carol Milano, independent journalist, Brooklyn
  • James Mulder, reporter, The (Syracuse) Post Standard
  • Laura Newman, independent journalist, New York
  • Elaine Schattner, independent journalist, New York
  • Patti Singer, health reporter, Democrat and Chronicle, Rochester, N.Y.
  • Amber Smith, staff writer, The (Syracuse) Post Standard
  • Corina Storrs, editorial assistant,, New York
  • Rebecca Trevett, reporter, Watertown Daily Times


Congratulations to our AHCJ-Ethnic Media Health Journalism fellows. We were able to support these fellows this year thanks to funding from The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust.

  • Ada Alverez, editor, Muévete DC, Washington, D.C.
  • Ran An, science and medical editor, China Newsweek, Morgantown, W.Va.
  • Jamila Bey, independent journalist, Washington, D.C.
  • Geoff Chin, senior writer, American Commercial News, El Monte, Calif.
  • Antonio Flores-Lobos, editor, Las Noticias, Kingston, N.Y.
  • Amani Ghouleh, editor/publisher, Arab Horizon Newspaper, Oaklawn, Il.
  • Charles Hallman, staff writer, Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder, Minneapolis
  • De'Saundra Harris-Sullivan, journalist, American Urban Radio Networks, Pittsburgh
  • Kimberly Hayes Taylor, independent journalist, Detroit
  • Nina Hemphill Reeder, section editor, Upscale Magazine, Atlanta
  • Sandra Jordan, reporter, The St. Louis American
  • Shuka Kalantari, producer, KQED/KPFA-San Francisco
  • Andrea King Collier, independent journalist, Lansing, Mich.
  • Wynfred Russell, heatlh writer, PepperSoup, Brooklyn Park, Minn.
  • Viji Sundaram, health editor, New America Media, San Francisco
  • Tracey Zhu, life-health editor, The Epoch Times, Bethany, Conn.

Healthier Beat Fellowships2011 AHCJ-HEALTHIER BEAT FELLOWSHIPS

Congratulations to our AHCJ-Healthier Beat fellows. This program, aimed at better training reporters in covering the health aspects of non-health beats, was supported this year by The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust.

  • Melissa Burden, technology reporter, The Detroit News
  • Sean Carr, Washington bureau manager, Bestweek Insurance News, Washington, D.C.
  • Amanda Cuda Swavy, government reporter, The Connecticut Post, Bridgeport, Conn.
  • Angie Drobnic Holan, government reporter, The St. Petersburg Times
  • Linda Jue, executive editor, G.W. Williams Center for Independent Journalism, San Francisco
  • Ciara O'Rourke, political reporter, Austin American-Statesman
  • Richard Salit, futures reporter, The Providence (R.I.) Journal
  • Edward Stannard, metro editor, The New Haven (Conn.) Register


Congratulations to our AHCJ-Rural Health Journalism fellows. This is a new fellowship program introduced this year thanks to funding from The Leona M. and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust.

  • AHCJ Rural Health Journalism Fellowships

    Constance Alexander, columnist, Murray (Ky.) Ledger & Times
  • Mark Andersen, medical reporter, Lincoln (Neb.) Journal Star
  • Coshandra Dillard, staff writer, Tyler (Texas) Morning Telegraph
  • Larry Dreiling, senior field editor, High Plains Journal, Hays, Kan.
  • Michelle Rupe Eubanks, reporter, TimesDaily, Florence, Ala.
  • Chris Fleisher, business writer, Valley News, West Lebanon, N.H.
  • Laura Gater, independent journalist, Columbia City, Ind.
  • Sheila Hagar, reporter, Walla Walla (Wash.) Union-Bulletin
  • Sarah Bruyn Jones, reporter, The Roanoke (Va.) Times
  • Alison Knezevich, reporter, The Charleston (W.Va.) Gazette
  • Maunette Loeks, staff reporter, Star Herald, Scottsbluff, Neb.
  • Matthew Mikus, reporter, The St. Ignace (Mich.) News
  • Shannon Muchmore, staff writer, Tulsa (Okla.) World
  • Molly Newman, reporter, Marshfield (Wis.) News-Herald
  • Loretta Sword, reporter, The Pueblo (Colo.) Chieftain
  • Stacy Temple, reporter, The (Monroe, La.) News-Star
  • Cindy Uken, reporter, The Billings (Mont.) Gazette