Member portal ...

Join or renew today Membership portal

Career Development: Fellowships, Internships, Training & Grants

The National Science-Health-Environment Reporting Fellowships

A development program for early-career journalists

The National Science-Health-Environment Reporting Fellowships program is a unique collaboration of three leading journalism groups dedicated to ensuring the future of specialized journalism.

AHCJ has joined forces with the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing and the Society of Environmental Journalists to create this fellowship aimed at early-career journalists interested in careers reporting on science, health, and environmental issues.

The yearlong program offers the selected fellows niche workshops, customized webinars, registration to national conferences, access to unique resources, and individual professional mentors to assist with career development.

The project, funded by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute Department of Science Education and the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, will provide 12 fellowships. The program is particularly aimed at staff and freelance journalists with between two and 10 years of professional reporting experience.

Click here for more information and to apply.

Deadline to apply: by 6 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. CT, 3 p.m. PT, Sept. 1, 2022.

Questions? Contact Susan Cunningham, cunninghamsu@missouri.edu or 573-882-2203.