Member? Log in...

Join or renew today

Career Development: Awards & Contests

Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism

Awards for Excellence in Health Care JournalismThe AHCJ contest, which began in 2004, boasts nine categories. Entries can include a wide range of health coverage including public health, consumer health, medical research, the business of health care and health ethics. The Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism were created by journalists for journalists and are not influenced or funded by commercial or special-interest groups.

Award winners

First-place winners earn $500, complimentary lodging and registration for Health Journalism 2013. All winners receive certificates. See winners of past contests.


For the early-bird rates ($30 members, $55 nonmembers), entries must be received by Dec. 20, 2013.

Regular-rate entries ($50 members, $75 nonmembers) must be received no later than Jan. 13, 2013. The online submission system will stop taking entries at 5 p.m. EST. Your entry fees must be received by the deadline for your entries to be considered.

Posted on 10/01/09.