AHCJ member news: New jobs, fellowships, awards and more for health journalists

crowd clapping congratulationsThis edition of member news includes accomplishments from AHCJ members Benjamin Hardy, Melissa Patrick, Kelsey Ryan and Bram Sable-Smith.

Benjamin Hardy (@unbenji) has been named the first editor of the Arkansas Nonprof­it News Network. Hardy was a longtime editor at the Arkansas Times. As a 2018 AHCJ Reporting Fellow on Health Care Performance, Hardy examined Medicaid in Arkansas, with an emphasis on the costs and benefits of the state’s priva­tized approach to Medicaid expansion.

Melissa Patrick (@MelissaPatrick1), a reporter for Ken­tucky Health News, was named a Healthy Kentucky Policy Champion for bringing attention to issues and policies that af­fect the health of Kentuckians. The Champion award is given by the Founda­tion for a Healthy Kentucky. Patrick was a 2017-18 AHCJ Regional Health Journal­ism Fellow.

Kelsey Ryan (@kelsey_ryan) has founded The Bea­con, a nonprofit news organization focused on in-depth, public interest journalism serving Kansans and Missou­rians. Ryan has been an AHCJ-Kansas Health Journalism fellow and an AHCJ-Rural Health Journalism Fellow. Ryan worked at The Kansas City Star on the investigative team that was a 2018 Pulit­zer Prize finalist in Public Service.

Bram Sable-Smith (@besables) is the fourth Mike Simonson Memorial Investigative Reporting Fellow. He will work with Wisconsin Public Radio and Wisconsin Watch to deepen his skills in investiga­tive journalism, editing and on-air ra­dio production. Sable-Smith has been an AHCJ-CDC Journalism Fellow and, as a member of the 2017 class of AHCJ Reporting Fellows on Health Care Per­formance, examined the state of rural hospitals in Missouri.

Do you have professional news to share with your colleagues? Please fill out this form so we can include it in a future blog post and edition of HealthBeat.

Leave a Reply