Welcome to AHCJ’s newest members

Len Bruzzese

About Len Bruzzese

Len Bruzzese is the executive director of AHCJ and its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism. He also is an associate professor at the Missouri School of Journalism and served for nearly 20 years in daily journalism.

welcome-matPlease welcome these new professional and student members to AHCJ.

All new members are welcome to stop by this post’s comment section to introduce themselves.

  • Alison Abritis, news researcher, Retraction Watch, Oldsmar, Fla. (@alisonabritis)
  • Claire Altschuler, independent journalist, Montclair, N.J. (@caltschuler)
  • Tyffanie Ammeter, dietetic intern, Teachers College, Columbia University, New York, (@tyffanieammeter)
  • Samantha Angaiak, reporter, KTUU, Anchorage, Alaska (@SamAngaiakKTUU)
  • Edgar Angel, host/producer, Jabar Communications, North Charleston, S.C.
  • Bruce Barcott, deputy editor, Leafly News, Bainbridge Island, Wash. (@brucebarcott)
  • Erin Beck, staff writer, Charleston Gazette-Mail, Charleston, W.V. (@erinbeckwv)
  • Dominique Bonessi, city hall reporter, WYPR-Baltimore, Alexandria, Va. (@dbonessi)
  • Brooke Borel, independent journalist, Brooklyn, N.Y. (@brookeborel)
  • Samantha Bryant, student, University of South Florida, Tampa, Fla. (@sbryanttv)
  • Rita Buckley, independent journalist, Swampscott, Mass.
  • Melissa Campbell, student, University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.
  • David Castele, student, University of Houston, Seabrook, Texas
  • Elaine Chen, project manager, WNYC, New York (@elainejchen)
  • Cassie Chew, independent journalist, Silver Spring, Md. (@indiefilmfan)
  • Morgan Chilson, business editor, The Topeka Capital-Journal, Topeka, Kan. (@crazeywriter)
  • Ginger Christ, reporter, The Plain Dealer, Cleveland (@gchristcle)
  • Michael Corcoran, independent journalist, Marshfield, Mass. (@mcorcoran3)
  • Christina Dabney, student, City University of New York Graduate School of Journalism, Brooklyn, N.Y.
  • Seth Dalton, producer, VICE Media, Brooklyn, N.Y. (@sethfilms)
  • Ellen Eldridge, independent journalist, Woodstock, Ga. (@elleneldridge27)
  • Sarah Fentem, digital producer, WFYI, Indianapolis
  • Gwendolyn Filosa, staff reporter, Florida Keys Keynoter/FLKeysNews.com, Key West, Fla. (@KeyWestGwen)
  • Mary Clare Fischer, assistant editor, 5280 Magazine, Denver (@mc_fischer)
  • Emily Forman, health reporter, WFYI, Indianapolis
  • Desare Frazier, news reporter, Mississippi Public Broadcasting, Jackson, Miss.
  • Miranda Fulmore, student, University of Alabama, Vestavia Hills, Ala. (@mirandafulmore1)
  • Malaka Gharib, editor, NPR, Washington, D.C. (@malakagharib)
  • Frank Gluck, health reporter, The News-Press and The USA Today Network, Fort Myers, Fla. (@FrankGluck)
  • Kristina Griffith, student, University of Georgia, Athens, Ga.
  • Mary Harris, host/reporter, WNYC, New York (@marysdesk)
  • Rachele Hendricks-Sturrup, independent journalist, Hollywood, Fla.
  • Zach Hillstrom, health reporter, The Pueblo Chieftain, Colorado Springs, Colo. (@ZachHillstrom)
  • Esther Honig, reporter, WOSU, Columbus, Ohio (@estherhonig)
  • Samantha Horton, multimedia journalist, Side Effects/WNIN Tri-State Public Media, Evansville, Ind. (@samhorton5)
  • Katheryn Houghton, health reporter, Daily Inter Lake, Whitefish, Mont. (@K_Hought)
  • Elaine Howley, independent journalist, Waltham, Mass. (@emkhowley)
  • Monica Humphries, student, University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla.
  • John Ingold, reporter, The Denver Post, Denver (@johningold)
  • Juli James, lecturer, University of North Texas, Fort Worth, Texas (@wakeuplaughing)
  • Bret Jaspers, reporter/editor, WSKG-Binghamton, N.Y., Binghamton, N.Y. (@bretjaspers)
  • Susan Jenks, independent journalist, Indian Harbor Beach, Fla.
  • Deborah Jones, engagement editor, WFYI, Indianapolis
  • Stefani Kim, associate editor, Hearing Review, Larchmont, N.Y.
  • Taylor Knopf Specht, rural & mental health reporter , North Carolina Health News, Raleigh, N.C. (@tayknopf)
  • Ellen Kurek, freelance contributor, MD Magazine, Newcastle, Wash.
  • Sarah Kwon, independent journalist, Cambridge, Mass.
  • Karla Lant, independent journalist, Phoenix (@karlalant)
  • Ashley Lopez, senior reporter, KUT, Austin, Texas (@ashlopezradio)
  • Natasha Madov, editor, Medscape, New York (@sulfurica)
  • Elizabeth Marglin, associate editor, Yoga Journal, Lyons, Colo.
  • Christopher Matsko, independent journalist, Monroeville, Pa. (@ajointingdeu)
  • Sarah Mawerere, producer/presenter, Uganda Broadcasting Corporation Radio, Kampala,
  • Lesley McClurg, science reporter, KQED, Oakland, Calif. (@lesleywmcclurg)
  • Michael McGrady, independent journalist, Colorado Springs, Colo. (@mikemcgrady2)
  • Corinne McSpedon, senior editor, American Journal of Nursing, Hastings-on-Hudson, N.Y.
  • Heather Mongilio, crime and courts reporter, Carroll County Times, Ellicott City, Md. (@Hmongilio)
  • Josh Moody, reporter, The News & Advance, Lynchburg, Va. (@byJoshMoody)
  • Jenna Moses, student, Vanderbilt University, Brentwood, Tenn.
  • Margaret Nicklas, independent journalist, Austin, Texas (@margaretnicklas)
  • Casey Nilsson, associate editor, Rhode Island Monthly, Warwick, R.I. (@casey_nilsson)
  • Jonathan O’Connell, staff writer, The Times-Tribune, Scranton, Pa. (@jon_oc)
  • Alex Orlando, student, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.
  • Kelly O’Shea, deputy health editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer, Philadelphia (@kelloshea)
  • Kim Painter, independent journalist, McLean, Va. (@kimpainter)
  • Ann Preston, professor, St. Ambrose University, Davenport, Iowa
  • Kelly Ragan, reporter, Greeley Tribune, Greeley, Colo. (@kellyraygun)
  • Luke Ranker, reporter, The Topeka Capital-Journal, Topeka, Kan. (@lrankerNEWS)
  • Elena Rivera, student, University of Missouri, Columbia, Mo.
  • Jack Rodolico, health and science reporter, New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, N.H.
  • Genna Rollins, senior editor, American Association for Clinical Chemistry, Silver Springs, Md.
  • Sarah Sarder, student, University of North Texas, Denton, Texas (@sarderrr)
  • Erin Schumaker, senior healthy living editor, The Huffington Post, Brooklyn, N.Y. (@erinlschumaker)
  • Gayle Scott, independent journalist, Chesapeake, Va.
  • Jill Sheridan Poulos, health and science reporter, WFYI, Indianapolis (@JillASheridan)
  • Antara Sinha, student, University of Florida, Weston, Fla. (@antarasinha)
  • Jonathan Streetman, reporter, Herald-Times, Bloomington, Ind. (@DrIndianaJon)
  • Dennis Thompson, reporter, HealthDay, Salem, Ore. (@DMThompsonJr)
  • Nicole Torres, associate editor, Harvard Business Review, Brighton, Mass. (@nicole90t)
  • Bijal Trivedi, independent journalist, Washington, D.C.
  • Julia Vassey, student, University of California, Berkeley, Oakland, Calif. (@Jvassey)
  • JoAnne Viviano, staff reporter, The Columbus Dispatch, Columbus, Ohio (@joanneviviano)
  • Nicole Wetsman, student, New York University, New York (@NicoleWetsman)
  • Catherine Wheeler, student, University of Missouri, Kansas City, Mo. (@cwheeeeeler)
  • Cassandra Willyard, independent journalist, Madison, Wis. (@cwillyard)
  • Heather Wolford, reporter, Cumberland Times News, Cumberland, Md. (@HeatherBWolford)
  • Matt Wynn, reporter, MedPage Today, Omaha, Neb. (@mattwynn)
  • Daniel Yarnall, section editor, Jerk Magazine, Syracuse University, Chalfont, Pa. (@danny_yarnall)
  • Deborah Yetter, reporter, The Courier-Journal, Louisville, Ky. (@d_yetter)
  • Rebecca Zumoff, editor, digital media, Nephrology News & Issues, Chicago (@RebeccaZumoff)

If you haven’t joined yet, see what member benefits you’re missing out on: Access to more than 50 journals and databases, tip sheets and articles from your colleagues on how they’ve reported stories, conferences, workshops, online training, reporting guides and more. Join AHCJ today to get a wealth of support and tools to help you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *