New jobs, awards and more: Get the latest news about AHCJ members

Patricia Anstett, medical writer at the Detroit Free Press for 22 years, is among 22 staffers to get a buyout and will retire from the paper. A founding member of AHCJ, she worked at two Chicago dailies; a Washington, D.C., features syndicate; Congressional Quarterly and The Detroit News. She mentored a dozen interns through the Kaiser Health Reporting and AAAS fellowships. She can be reached at

Jeff Baillon, an investigative reporter at KMSP-Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minn., won a regional Edward R. Murrow award for a piece he did on a young boy with autism.  The piece documented the tremendous strides the boy made in his development after his family obtained a specially trained therapy dog.

Heather Boerner has been named a Dennis A. Hunt Fund for Health Journalism Fellow, through the University of Southern California and the California Endowment. She is working on a project about health care access for undocumented workers.

Ellen Durckel spent 11 days in August producing segments for The Today Show, Good Morning America and NBC Nightly News.

Freelance writer Micky Duxbury was part of a team producing an investigative series on the effects of incarceration on Oakland communities for KQED News associate Oakland Local.

Dirk Hanson won the 2012 CPDD/NIDA award from the College on Problems of Drug Dependence, for media coverage that increased “public understanding of scientific issues concerning drug use disorders.”

Markian Hawryluk, health reporter at The Bulletin in Bend, Ore., was named a Knight-Wallace Fellow at the University of Michigan for the 2012-13 academic year.

Carolyn Hirschman, senior writer/editor for the National Institute on Aging Information Center, is also administrator of the Center’s Alzheimer’s disease clinical trials database.

Tamara Jeffries will moderate a panel for the Rosalynn Carter Mental Health Journalism Fellowship. She also was selected to attend the NIH’s “Medicine in the Media: The Challenge of Reporting on Medical Research.”

Sandra Jordan of The St. Louis American won Best Business Story for weeklies in its class in the 2012 Missouri Press Association awards for excellence in journalism. She was recognized for a series on diversity at BJC HealthCare compared to peer hospital systems.

Prerna Mona Khanna, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P., F.A.C.P.M., was awarded the “Breaking Barriers” Award by the Chicago Foundation for Women for her work over the past 20 years in print, magazine, television, radio and online medical journalism.

Chris King and The St. Louis American won Best Coverage of Government for weeklies in its class among many other awards in the 2012 Missouri Press Association awards for excellence in journalism.

Richard Kirkner recently joined the Springer Vision Care Group in Ambler, Pa., as executive editor of Ophthalmology Management and Retinal Physician magazines. Previously, he was editor-in-chief of Optometry Times, an Advanstar publication based in North Olmsted, Ohio.

Gergana Koleva will pursue a master of science degree in health policy at the Harvard School of Public Health. In the meantime, she will continue to cover patient safety and health care fraud as a contributing writer for

Peggy Pico‘s series about undergoing chemotherapy for stage 3 breast cancer won first place from SPJ’s San Diego chapter.

David Pittman, formerly of FDAnews, is now the Washington Correspondent for MedPage Today.

Paul Raeburn is taking over as chief tracker (chief media critic) at the Knight Science Journalism Tracker. He will be posting five days a week, praising and critiquing science stories, medical stories, health policy stories, and other works of science or health care journalism.

Gary Schwitzer, publisher of,  spoke to journalists, policy makers, physicians, public health professionals and medical librarians at the 14th annual Rocky Mountain Workshop on Evidence-Based Health Care in Steamboat Springs, Colo., in July.

Do you have news to share with your fellow journalists? Send it to for a future blog post.

Leave a Reply