About AHCJ: General News

Membership selects new board members for 2020-21 Date: 07/02/20

July 2, 2020
Contact: Len Bruzzese, AHCJ executive director, 573-884-5606

Keren Landman

Joyce Frieden

Columbia, MO. – Joyce Frieden, Washington editor at MedPage Today, and Keren Landman, M.D., a freelance journalist based in Atlanta, join four incumbents in being seated on the Association of Health Care Journalists’ 2020-21 board of directors.

Incumbents starting a new term include Carrie Feibel, senior editor of the Science Desk at NPR; Tony Leys, health care reporter at the Des Moines Register; Ivan Oransky, M.D., vice president of editorial for Medscape; and Sabriya Rice, Knight chair in health and medical journalism at the University of Georgia.

The board members join those elected last year for two-year terms: Jeanne Erdmann, a Missouri-based freelancer; Felice Freyer, The Boston Globe; Gideon Gil, Stat; Marlene Harris-Taylor, a reporter and producer for WVIZ/PBS Ideastream; Maryn McKenna, an Atlanta-based freelancer; and Karl Stark, The Philadelphia Inquirer.

Three board officers selected last year by fellow board members will continue in their roles for a second year. They are Oransky as president, Freyer as vice president and Gil as treasurer. The board will select a new secretary to replace Julie Appleby, Kaiser Health News, who chose not to run for re-election this year.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. It is a community of about 1,500 people committed to the highest standards of reporting, writing, editing, and broadcasting in health care journalism for the general public and trade publications. The Association hosts a resource-laden website, offers numerous fellowships for journalists, conducts training to help journalists improve and advance their coverage and advocates for the free flow of information to the public. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.

Carrie Feibel

Tony Leys

Ivan Oransky

Sabriya Rice