About AHCJ: General News

New board and officers seated for 2007-08 Date: 06/26/07

June 26, 2007


Contact: Len Bruzzese, executive director, 573-884-5606

AHCJ Board of Directors

COLUMBIA, Mo. - Members of the Association of Health Care Journalists have re-elected five directors and added one new one for the 2007-08 fiscal year.

Returning board members are Andrew Holtz, an independent journalist from Portland, Ore.; Mary Chris Jaklevic, an independent journalist and journalism instructor from Chicago; Carla K. Johnson, The Associated Press, Chicago; Charles Ornstein, Los Angeles Times; and Karl Stark, The Philadelphia Inquirer. Newly elected this year is Sheree Crute, a freelance writer and editor based in New York.

The other members of the board are Julie Appleby, USA Today; Phil Galewitz, The Palm Beach Post; Kristen Hallam, Bloomberg News, London; Trudy Lieberman, Graduate School of Journalism at City University of New York; Ivan Oransky, The Scientist; and Mike Stobbe, The Associated Press, Atlanta.

Because the board chose its officers for two-year terms last year - and all officers were returned to the board - the same officers will continue to serve during the next year. Lieberman is president, Ornstein is vice president, Stark is treasurer and Jaklevic is secretary.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.