About AHCJ: General News

Board returns officers to new two-year terms Date: 10/30/19

Ivan Oransky

Felice J. Freyer
Gideon Gil
Julie Appleby

COLUMBIA, Mo. – The AHCJ board of directors has voted to retain the officers who have served the past two years. The same officers will serve a new two-year term of 2019-2021.

Ivan Oransky, M.D., vice president, editorial at Medscape and Distinguished Writer in Residence at New York University’s Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, returns as president; Felice J. Freyer of The Boston Globe returns as vice president; Gideon Gil of Stat returns as treasurer; and Julie Appleby of Kaiser Health News returns as secretary. Karl Stark of The Philadelphia Inquirer remains immediate past president, having served two two-year terms chairing the board.

In a general board election held in June, AHCJ members voted on six open board slots. The membership returned all eligible incumbents to the board. The board members then held a fall vote on officers.

Other members of the board of directors are Jeanne Erdmann, an independent journalist based in Wentzville, Mo.; Marlene Harris-Taylor, a reporter and producer at WVIZ/PBS Ideastream in Cleveland; Scott Hensley, a writer and editor at NPR; Tony Leys, a health care reporter at the Des Moines Register; Maryn McKenna, an independent journalist based in Atlanta; Sabriya Rice, the Knight Chair of Health & Medical Journalism at the University of Georgia, and Carrie Feibel, a senior editor at NPR.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. With about 1,500 members across the United States and around the globe, its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. The association and its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism provide training, resources and a professional home for journalists. Offices are based at the Missouri School of Journalism.