About AHCJ: General News

AHCJ selects Austin for Health Journalism 2020 Date: 07/08/19

COLUMBIA, Mo. – Health Journalism 2020, the annual conference of the Association of Health Care Journalists, will take place in Austin, Texas, AHCJ has announced.

The conference, which draws attendees from across the United States and several other countries, is slated for April 30-May 3, 2020, at the JW Marriott in downtown Austin. Local host sponsors include the University of Texas Dell Medical School, Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute and the St. David’s Foundation.

The conference, which usually draws 700-800 attendees, will feature three and a half days of workshops, panels, roundtables and field trips covering the latest topics in medical science, health policy, public health, medical education, consumer health and the business of health care. Sessions focus on the special needs of reporters, editors and producers as they attempt to cover these topics for their audiences.

The conference will include the annual luncheon for the Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism, the annual Freelancer PitchFest, and AHCJ’s annual membership meeting, as well as receptions and other meals included in the registration fee. The JW Marriott is located in the thriving entertainment district that helps give the Texas Capital its high-energy reputation.

Keep up with the latest on conference session and event planning at HealthJournalism.org/hj20. Suggestions for panels and speakers are being accepted there until Sept. 10.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. In just 21 years, it has grown into the premier organization for training health journalists, boasting nearly 1,500 members. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. AHCJ, which is based at the Missouri School of Journalism, conducts training through its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism.