About AHCJ: General News

AHCJ issues call for entries in annual awards program Date: 10/16/17

Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism

COLUMBIA, Mo. — The Association of Health Care Journalists is now accepting entries in the 2017 Awards for Excellence in Health Care Journalism.

Since 2004, the contest has recognized the best health reporting in print, broadcast and online media across 11 categories. The program was created by journalists for journalists and is not influenced or funded by commercial or special-interest groups.

Entries can include a wide range of health coverage including public health, consumer health, medical research, the business of health care and health ethics.

This year the contest retains its topic-based categories, where entries compete head-to-head no matter whether they appeared in magazines, newspapers, trade publications or on radio or television stations or websites.

First-place winners earn $500 and a framed certificate. They also receive complimentary lodging for two nights and registration for the annual conference, April 12-15, 2018, in Phoenix. If there is more than one entrant on the award, it is up to these winners to divide any prize. Lodging will only be covered for one individual in each category.

The early-bird entry deadline will be 11:59 p.m. Central Time on Dec. 8. The final deadline will be noon CT on Jan. 8.

Find out more:

·        How to enter

·        Frequently asked questions

·        Entry rules

·        2016 winners

·        Search past entries and winners