About AHCJ: General News

Board names new officers to two-year terms Date: 09/26/17

Ivan Oransky

Felice J. Freyer
Gideon Gil
Julie Appleby

COLUMBIA, Mo. – The AHCJ board of directors has elected a new set of officers for 2017-19.

Ivan Oransky, M.D., distinguished writer in residence at New York University’s Carter Journalism Institute and editor at large for MedPage Today was named president; Felice J. Freyer of The Boston Globe was named vice president; Gideon Gil of Stat was named treasurer; and Julie Appleby of Kaiser Health News will remain as secretary. Karl Stark of The Philadelphia Inquirer is the immediate past president, having served two two-year terms chairing the board.

A new board was seated in July. The board members then voted on officers in time for its fall board meeting.

Other members of the board of directors are Jeanne Erdmann, an independent journalist based in Wentzville, Mo.; Marlene Harris-Taylor, a reporter and producer at WVIZ/PBS Ideastream in Cleveland; Scott Hensley, a writer and editor at NPR; Tony Leys, a health care reporter at the Des Moines Register; Maryn McKenna, an independent journalist based in Atlanta; Sabriya Rice, a health business reporter at The Dallas Morning News and Charlotte Sutton, health editor at The Philadelphia Inquirer.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. With about 1,500 members across the United States and around the globe, its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. The association and its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism provide training, resources and a professional home for journalists. Offices are based at the Missouri School of Journalism.