About AHCJ: General News

New AHCJ board to be seated July 1 Date: 06/05/17

June 7, 2017


Contact: Len Bruzzese, AHCJ executive director, 573-884-5606

Columbia, MO. – Marlene Harris-Taylor, a reporter and producer for WVIZ/PBS Ideastream, will join the board of directors for the Association of Health Care Journalists. She and incumbents Jeanne Erdmann, a Missouri-based freelancer; Felice Freyer, The Boston Globe; Gideon Gil, Stat; Maryn McKenna, an Atlanta-based freelancer; and Karl Stark, The Philadelphia Inquirer; will start two-year terms on July 1.

Marlene Harris-Taylor
Marlene Harris-Taylor

The board appointed Harris-Taylor to an open seat after the election drew only the five incumbents as candidates for the six spots, precluding the need for a vote. Harris-Taylor joined the Cleveland public radio and television outlet last fall after four years at The Toledo Blade and earlier work at WBGU-Bowling Green, Ohio. She is just completing a 2016-17 Regional Health Journalism Fellowship.

The six join the board members elected in last year’s voting: Julie Appleby, M.P.H., of Kaiser Health News; Scott Hensley, of NPR; Tony Leys, of the Des Moines Register; Ivan Oransky, M.D., of New York University and Retraction Watch; Sabriya Rice, of The Dallas Morning News; and Charlotte Sutton, of The Philadelphia Inquirer.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. It is a community of about 1,500 people committed to the highest standards of reporting, writing, editing, and broadcasting in health care journalism for the general public and trade publications. The Association hosts a resource-laden website, offers numerous fellowships for journalists, conducts training to help journalists improve and advance their coverage and advocates for the free flow of information to the public. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.