About AHCJ: General News

New AHCJ board seated for 2014-15 Date: 07/21/14

Tony Leys and Charlotte Sutton
Tony Leys and Charlotte Sutton

Charlotte Sutton, senior editor/health and politics for the Tampa Bay Times, and Tony Leys, a staff writer for the Des Moines Register, join four incumbents in being seated on the Association of Health Care Journalists' 2014-15 board of directors.

Incumbents starting a new two-year term include AHCJ Vice President Ivan Oransky, M.D., of MedPage Today in New York; AHCJ Secretary Julie Appleby of Kaiser Health News in Washington, D.C., Scott Hensley of NPR in Washington, D.C., and Irene Wielawski, an independent journalist in Pound Ridge, N.Y.

Sutton, a 2012-13 AHCJ Regional Health Fellow, earned her master’s degree in public health this year and recently added politics to her health editor role at the Times.

Leys, a 2011-12 AHCJ Regional Health Fellow, has been the Register’s main health care reporter since 2000 and has been serving as a volunteer on AHCJ’s Right to Know Committee.

The newly seated board members join those elected last year for two-year terms: AHCJ President Karl Stark, The Philadelphia Inquirer; AHCJ Treasurer Felice Freyer, The Boston Globe; Gideon Gil, The Boston Globe; Carla K. Johnson, The Associated Press; Maryn McKenna, independent journalist; and former board president Charles Ornstein, ProPublica.

The Association of Health Care Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. Its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. AHCJ is housed at the Missouri School of Journalism.