First class of AHCJ-NLM fellows announced

Len Bruzzese

About Len Bruzzese

Len Bruzzese is the executive director of AHCJ and its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism. He also is an associate professor at the Missouri School of Journalism and serves on the executive committee of the Council of National Journalism Organizations.

Six journalists have been named fellows in the program, created this year to increase reporters’ access and understanding of the considerable resources available at the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.AHCJ-NLM Fellowships

The journalists chosen to take part this year are:

  • John Fauber, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
  • Lynya Floyd, Essence Magazine
  • Jeff Hansel, Rochester, Minn. Post-Bulletin
  • Shari Rudavsky, The Indianapolis Star
  • Douglas Podolsky, Consumer Reports
  • Heidi Splete, Global Medical News Network

The weeklong visit to the NIH campus, set for Sept. 13-17, will allow hands-on workshops about how to use and get the most from several government research databases, such as PubMed, MedlinePlus, and ToxNet. Fellows also will meet with senior NLM and NIH researchers and officials for exclusive informational sessions.

The fellows were selected from dozens of qualified applicants, which points to the need for these kinds of training opportunities, said AHCJ Executive Director Len Bruzzese. “We hope to continue working with the National Library of Medicine to offer this training regularly,” he said.

“The bonus will be more and better stories.”

AHCJ is an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing public understanding of health care issues. With more than 1,100 members, its mission is to improve the quality, accuracy and visibility of health care reporting, writing and editing. The association and its Center for Excellence in Health Care Journalism are based at the Missouri School of Journalism.

Leave a Reply